A Fantastic Night at The Bicycle Thief!

28 Aug

Alright so, picture this… A beautiful Saturday evening on the Halifax waterfront, sun is setting, people smiling, boats docked at the wharf, the cutest dogs off on an evening walk and me and my family watching it all pass us by as we dine outside on the patio at The Bicycle Thief.

What a great way to spend a night in Halifax!

I can’t say enough great things about this place, the food, service and ambiance were all top notch in my books!

I had shrimp in white wine cream sauce, pork ribs, tomato basil salad, veal parmesan and seafood linguine. (ok, well I had a taste of it all but didn’t eat whole portions myself! We’re share-ers in my family, our waitress caught onto that too!)

Just when I didn’t think I could fit another bite after courses of delicious food – they came with the dessert menu’s…so let me tell you about the desserts!

Coconut Cream Pie

This is not your average coconut cream here people! It starts with a chocolate crust, which has a lovely saltiness to it, topped with ever so creamy coconut filling and another cream topping!

If you are looking for a twist on the traditional coconut cream pie – this is an excellent choice!
Highly recommended! Great for sharing!

My Rating: 8 out of 10 – a return favorite
*should also note that this is the second time I’ve ordered it – you know its good when you choose it again on a return visit!

But wait… there’s more!

Peanut Butter Gelato Fudge Sundae

Now this was a first try for me on several accounts.

I had never had peanut butter gelato before, chocolate and other kinds, of course, but never peanut butter. I am a huge fan of the peanut butter chocolate combo though.  Also, I had never really considered ordering a sundae for dessert at such a fine restaurant (you know, sundae’s are usually saved for Friendly’s, or Swiss Chalet etc.)

This sundae is several scoops of peanut butter gelato, layered with homemade peanut brittle, peanuts and hot fudge. Can I just  say…MIND BLOWN!

It is all kinds of awesome! I loved it, and it was a hit with everyone at the table. The peanut brittle was a sweet crunchy surprise, it added to the gourmet factor.

My Rating: 10 out of 10

A sure bet for those who love the peanut butter chocolate combo!

Leave a Reply

